Girl’s Night Out

Posted: December 6, 2008 in Uncategorized

I went out with a group of sweet young dykes last Thursday, who I had just met. I explained to them how I was transitioning. They were sweet and sympathetic. They wanted to help me put on some femme drag. R. helped me try a girly, girly top and a dress with a deep decollete, and I used Anton’s razor to shave my my chest hair. My transformation was complete. I would not pass for femme in this outfit, but it was the most girly outfit I had ever tried on.
Somehow the activity of getting me dressed also bonded us together. I had been adopted as one of the girls. That is such a sweet feeling, to be femme and not be rejected for it, to be a part of the community of women.
I felt a warmth and acceptance, my feminine nature was not just tolerated but encouraged. I remember vividly how touch changed. I felt many reassuring hands on my shoulder, hands on my chest and kisses on my cheek. The social practices of touch in this community are so sweet.
We all danced in a straight bar on Divisadero. It was an edge to be Femme in a straight place. The straight men were a little jumpy about it, the women for some reason made a lot of eye contact as though I had become safe. I was there, en femme, with my posse and it felt great.

Comments
  1. antonia says:

    it’s cool reading these little glimpses into and observations of the personal evolution you’re in! thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Audrey says:

    Sweet story. What fun! I want to dress you!

  3. Jasper Gregory says:

    It’s a plan, Audrey. Let’s do High Femme.

Leave a Reply

