AmericanMaleFashion

Posted: March 9, 2009 in Autogynephilia 2009

Sissyphobia
When I stared my first Gender Quest (see Jaspers First Outfits) I struggled with the monochromatic ghetto of ‘man’ fashion. It is completely structured by Sissy Phobia.
* can’t stand out
* can’t draw attention
* can’t wear color except muted green and muted blue
* can’t show chest below the neck
* can’t show the outline of legs or ass
These rules are reversed if you display Hegemonic Masculinity, jocks and muscle boys are expected to be the objects of desire, but as top genders not bottom genders(see Top Bottom Genders).They are sexualized as the takers not the taken, while all expression of Alternative Masculinities are suppressed.

Fashion TechnologiesI resisted these norms by learning the Sartorial Technologies of Female Fashion.The toolkit available for Sissyphobic fashion is limited. Black, white, grey, brown, and dark blue cover most choices. Non-sports clothing is all very baggy. You are not supposed to look like you care either. The items are basically boring shoes, pants or shorts, white t-shirt, high-necked shirt and some kind of jacket or pullover.Gay male fashion breaks many of the sissyphobic rules, but still sticks to the basic toolkit of male fashion.

-please see Top Bottom Genders if my use of Top Bottom does not make sense).

Comments
  1. Andrei says:

    It is sadly too true about the color palette for “manly” fashion. I noticed a distinct difference while walking between departments in Sears this weekend. I am male identified, but female bodied, and if I want to “pass”, I throw on some baggy brown/black/green/grey cargo shorts and a black/blue/grey baggy t-shirt with brown/black sandals and a hat and I’m good to go. Unfortunately, those sort of clothes have invaded my wardrobe when my real passion is Goth clothing (I have taken a liking to Cybergoth and would like to incorporate some neons). My pride and joy are a pair of fire-engine red Tripp pants that are so laden with D-rings that I jingle!
    This is off-topic from your post, but I love reading your blog; I have read so much from other ftms and the transmasculine community that I wonder where the girls are! I’ve gotten to a point where I am more or less secure in my masculinity and would like to try being femme, but I’m worried that people will think I have “gone back to being a girl”. I like reading your femme explorations and journey; somehow it is very heartwarming, especially being read by someone traveling in the other direction.

Leave a Reply

